Oklahoma small claims an action for recovery of money based on breach of contract, for injuries, or to recover personal property may be brought in Small Claims Court if the plaintiff is willing to accept a recovery which does not exceed $6,000. Anything about $6,000 must be filed in a higher venue.
The Small Claims procedure was introduced to allow citizens to bring claims before a judge quickly. The Legislature has provided that there be no pleadings in small claims except those needed to state the claim or counterclaim.
All parties are entitled to be represented by an attorney in every case in State Court in Oklahoma. Either party may use an attorney even if the other side does not.
f the defendant has been properly served and does not appear in court, you will normally be entitled to a default judgment if you can prove your claim is valid. The judge will ask you enough questions about the case to establish the validity of your claim and then enter judgment in the amount you are entitled to have.
If either party wants a jury trial, and if the party's claim exceeds $1,500, the party must notify the court clerk in writing at least two working days prior to the time set for defendant's appearance and must pay the required fee.
Courtlinked.com will assist you with your question in regards to the procedures required for the state of Oklahoma.
Courtlinked will review your case and file your small claims in the correct venue.
Courtlinked.com will handle your entire Oklahoma small claims from start to finish.